Nirodha - Vinyasatreats
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-290,single-format-standard,bridge-core-2.4,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-title-hidden,qode_grid_1300,footer_responsive_adv,qode-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,qode-theme-ver-22.5,qode-theme-bridge,disabled_footer_bottom,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.2.0,vc_responsive


Patanjali once wrote in In the Yoga Sutra’s of Patanjali : Yoga chitta vritti nirodha

Yoga is stilling the fluctuations of the mind. 

Yoga Sutra 1.2:

Yoga Chitta Vritti Nirodhah. Yoga is stilling the fluctuations of the mind. This sutra is the heart of why we practice yoga.

The fluctuations of vritti

“Vrtti” is often translated as thought waves or the modifications of the mind. Each of us has experienced how the vrttis—which include emotions, memories, and imagination—spin around inside the mind.

The Nirodha

The nirodha state of mind is not only in the definition of yoga: this state of mind is also the goal of yoga. A nirodha mind is fully controlled and restrained, which can be attained through meditation and contemplation practices.

The 5 stages of the mind

  1. Kshipta – Chaotic or most fickle state of mind
  2. Mudha – Dull or Lazy state of mind
  3. Vikshipta – Partially focused mind
  4. Ekagra – One-pointed mind
  5. Niruddha – Fully absorbed mind